My Yearly Valentine – DIY Cards

DIY Valentine's - Hammer Sparkle Chalk

Helena - Hammer Sparkle Chalk Contributor

You are in luck – we have a new fabulous contributor today, Helena. She is sharing her crafty knowledge with us for Valentine’s Day Cards. Since Valentine’s Day is only five days away it is time to get your valentines-ducks in a row. Helena’s post will help you spread some love to your nearest and dearest this holiday.

Get your craft on! XO – Olivia

My Yearly Valentine – DIY Cards

DIY Valentine's - Hammer Sparkle ChalkI am a strong believer in letting those you love know it, so I say “I love you” to my friends and siblings every time we talk. Life is precious and I don’t want to ever regret not saying it. Every January since 2003 I have sent handmade Valentine’s Day cards to my closest friends and family to make sure they know I care.

DIY Valentine's - Hammer Sparkle ChalkEach year, I am inspired by a new theme – sailing, woodland animals, treasure hunts, and the list goes on. I typically send 15-20 cards yearly. This year, I came across acorn garland (that could be deconstructed and used as individual acorns) at Paper Source and found a catchy quote online that resonated with me – “The tallest oak in the forest was once just a nut that held its ground.”  For the personal touch, I added a note about our friendships being grounded in strong roots.  To finish it off, I stamped a cute heart to the front of the acorn. Voila- 12 cards complete in less than 4 hours! DIY Valentine's - Hammer Sparkle Chalk

This year, to share in the fun I invited a few others over for a V-Day craft day. Coming across the pre-cut cards made hosting a party easy.  Fast assembly allowed me time to socialize and get my cards done. The guests brought some of their own materials for cards with them and I provided tools, glitter, papers, stamps, and scissors. I kept the food simple, a gourmet cheese plate with fresh bread, grapes and gluten free crackers allowed guests to help themselves.  For drinks, I served coffee and wine for the early afternoon event.

Everyone had a great time! Each expressing their own individuality through their cards to share with the ones they love this Valentine’s Day.

DIY Valentine's - Hammer Sparkle Chalk DIY Valentine's - Hammer Sparkle Chalk DIY Valentine's - Hammer Sparkle Chalk DIY Valentine's - Hammer Sparkle Chalk

I hope this post inspires you to spend this dreary weather crafting!

Helena

Leave a comment